The Czech Music Shop

Czech Melody Masters

 Old Tyme Radio Favorites

The Czech Melody Masters are Austin, Texas' only authentic Czech Polka Band!

This CD was released in September 2000 and contains seven bonus tracks.

Bringing together over 50 years of combined musicianship, the Czech Melody Masters are proud to bring the best in Czech polka and waltz music to Texas and the world.

The Czech Melody Masters originally were formed in 1994 as the Dancehall Boys. During the 4 1/2 years that the Dancehall Boys were together, the band won the prestigious Horizon Award for Best New Polka Band from the Texas Polka Music Awards. The band also performed at Texas' premier Czech dancehalls and festivals, including Westfest, Caldwell Kolache Festival, National Polka Festival at Ennis and the world-famous South by Southwest Music Festival in Austin. The band also released 3 albums prior to this one, Behind the Blacksmith Shop, Back to Moravia and An Evening in Dubina.

In 1999, the band reformed as the Czech Melody Masters. As with the Dancehall Boys, in addition to a lively blend of polkas and waltzes, the Czech Melody Masters bring audiences an exciting blend of old-time country, western swing, big band and slow-time tunes. The band is committed to keeping alive the brass band and swing tradition of the best of the early Czech bands, such as the Pateks, Adolph Hofner, Bacova Ceska Kapela and Lee Roy Matocha.

The band members take great efforts to revive many long-lost Czech folk songs, including re-writing faded musical scores, , restoring well-known classics to their original complete versions and transcribing arrangements from scratchy 78's and out-of-print LPs.

Appearing on the CD are:

    Dennis Svatek (Taylor) Trumpet, baritone, vocals, music arranger

    Dave Bedrich (Austin) Trumpet and vocals

    Greg Rickard (Austin) Piano

    Thomas Durnin (Austin) Stand-up Bass

    Mark Rebecek (Corpus Christi) Drums and vocals

Songs on the CD are:

* - Indicates Czech Vocal

1. Corn Cockle - Polka*
2. Fly Me to My Homeland - Waltz
3. In the Dark - Polka
4. Moonlight - Waltz*
5. Happy Joe - Waltz*
6. Shiner Song- Polka*
7. U Studanky - Waltz*
8. Across the Texas Plains - Polka
9. Alone in the World - Waltz
10. Miner's Rose - Waltz*
11. Beautiful Moments - Polka*
12. At the Mill - March*
13. Looking For My Sweetheart - Waltz*
14. Strasidlo - Polka*

Plus 7 additional "live" tracks available on CD only

15. Musicians Come Out and Play - March*
16. Before I Met You - Waltz
17. Long Road to Praha - Polka*
18. Prune Song - Waltz*
19. Across the Texas Plains - Polka
20. Each Night at Nine
21. Strasidlo - Polka*

Available on CD, this recording sells for $15.00 plus shipping and handling.

 Order Old Tyme Radio Favorites

Home | Folk | Wedding | Polka | Featured | Order Info

Album Artwork copyright Melody Masters - No reuse or copy
without the express written permission of The Melody Masters