Instant Pysanky

Eastern Slovakia
Slovak and Carpatho-Rusyn Genealogical Research

The Stations of the Cross of John Paul II

The Stations of the Cross with Pope John Paul II

The celebration of the Stations of the Cross is popular on the Fridays of Lent, and especially Good Friday.

The Stations of the Cross used by Pope John Paul II on Good Friday 1991 was different.

On this day Pope John Paul II added a Fifteenth Station to the Way of the Cross, "Jesus Rises from the Dead".

Pope John Paul II, according to long-standing tradition, led people gathered at the Roman Colosseum in the Stations of the Cross.

But, on this remarkable occasion, Pope John Paul changed the format. He altered the fourteen stations and adds a fifteenth.

Some of the traditional stations are retained, While others are dropped and new stations added.

All of the stations are based on gospel events.

First Station: Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane

Second Station: Jesus, Betrayed by Judas, is Arrested

Third Station: Jesus is Condemned by the Sanhedrin

Fourth Station: Jesus is Denied by Peter

Fifth Station: Jesus is Judged by Pilate

Sixth Station: Jesus is Scourged and Crowned with Thorns

Seventh Station: Jesus Bears the Cross

Eighth Station: Jesus is Helped by Simon the Cyrenian to Carry the Cross

Ninth Station: Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem

Tenth Station: Jesus is Crucified

Eleventh Station: Jesus Promises His Kingdom to Dismas, the Good Thief

Twelfth Station: Jesus Speaks to His Mother and the Disciple

Thirteenth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross

Fourteenth Station: Jesus is Placed in the Tomb

Fifteenth Station: Jesus Rises from the Dead

Order a copy of The Stations of the Cross with Pope John Paul II for $2.99 plus shipping.

The book includes Gospel readings and prayers.

This Version of the Stations of the Cross is an alternative to the traditional Stations of the Cross and a way of reflecting more deeply on the Scriptural accounts of Christ's passion.

This "Scriptural Way of the Cross" is a great way to relect on the Passion, Death and Resurrection during Lent.

Although not originally part of the traditional set of Stations of the Cross, the Resurrection of Jesus Christ is now more and more integrated as part of The Way of the Cross.

Back to Genealogical Research in Slovakia

Back to Easter in Slovakia